NASA Scientists receive presidential award.

Via Nasa

Former president Barack Obama have named the recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) for 2016.

President Obama selected 6 scientists from various programmes within NASA for the prestigous award, which will be given to the recipients as well as the to the many other recipients of the presidential medals for 2016.

NASAs senior engineering, technology and science directorate have nominated the recipients

Dr. James Benardini — planetary protection; NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, California

Dr. Jin-Woo Han — nanodevices and nanoelectronics; Universities Space Research Association, Washington, based at NASA’s Ames Research Center in Moffett Field, California.

Dr. Michele Manuel — self-healing metals; University of Florida, Gainesville

Dr. Andrew Molthan — cloud microphysics; NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama

Dr. Colleen Mouw — oceanography and public health; Michigan Technological University, Houghton

Dr. Vikram Shyam — technical innovation in fundamental aeronautics; NASA’s Glenn Research Center in Cleveland

The award was first instated by President Bill Clinton in 1996. The agencies participating in the PECASE Awards program are: Department of Agriculture, Department of Commerce, Department of Defense, Department of Energy, Department of Education, Department of Health and Human Services: National Institutes of Health, Department of Veterans Affairs, Environmental Protection Agency, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, National Science Foundation, and the Smithsonian Institution

A complete list of winners can be found at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *